Eats: Mi Madre’s

25 08 2008

Every new Austin transplant quickly realizes exactly how many choices you have when it comes to getting a great Mexican dish. There is also an over-abundance of breakfast tacos in the area. You have to go through a lot to find the diamond in the rough of breakfast tacos. We went to Mi Madre’s, located on Manor street, for brunch with a couple of friends and were excited since we heard the migas here are among the best in the city. As we walked in, I happened to see the sign for the waffle plate and instantaneously my mouth started to water.

Personally, I have been on a mission to find the best waffles in central Texas. We have tried the waffles at Cafe Mundi and at East Side Cafe and neither one of them was up to my waffle connoisseur standard. They are good, but they aren’t my go-to waffle. Honestly, there aren’t many options in the city when it comes to waffles, so I will take what I can get at this point. Our table had ordered two migas taco plates and one migas plate. I was the black sheep who ordered the waffle plate at a Mexican joint and, as usual, I was let down. The plate comes with some scrambled eggs and a few strips of bacon and they where pretty good. The waffle, on the other hand, was spongy. If you are into bananas, you will probably appreciate the fact that is was topped with a few pieces. I am not a fan, so I didn’t appreciate it when I would take a bite and there was a hint of banana. The only bananas for me are of the banana Runts or Laffy Taffy variety.

As promised, the migas where as delicious as they come and I regret my decision to go with the waffles instead of the migas. But in the end, we had a great time on their lovely outdoor patio and I will be looking forward to their migas the next time we get a chance.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 08 2008
Crystal

Have you guys had the waffles at Blue Dahlia? I’m not sure what you’re looking for, but these are super airy and buttery smelling. 🙂

25 08 2008
JF

Yeah… we tried those out and they where a little crispy. Still hoping to find the ONE. We hear that Progress has a pretty good waffle so we might check it out this weekend…. or maybe we should just stick to breakfast tacos?

Leave a Reply

